*********************************************

KINGMAKER HOUSE RULES IN ISHKIBIBBLE

*********************************************

The 2nd edition (1981) rulebook, cards and map will be used. The only differences from the 1st edition (1976) are three important map changes:


• Preston is a port;


• There is a single sea space surrounding Penzance; and


• The London estuary is its own sea space, so ships must travel through it to and from London.

All Basic Game rules are used.

Optional Rules being used: Initial Placement, Commission, Ambush, Bishop Cards, Optional Parliament, Return from Parliament and Alliance.

Advanced Rules being used: Components, Prepare for Play, use of Edmund of Rutland and the Nobles Killed Table.

Other map changes and new rules, Crown cards and Event cards being used are detailed in a separate document.

NOTE: These rules may be altered as indicated below and in other notices sent by the GM, who reserves the right to interpret any rule or card in any situation not already addressed.

*************************

MAP USE

*************************

Kingmaker games in ishkibibble will refer to the digitized map provided by the GM. Every legal land and sea space (except for the Continent, Dublin, Ireland and Scotland) is represented by an alphanumeric label. (E.g., Penzance is located in space “Aa”, and the sea space surrounding Penzance is labeled “S1”.)

Players may refer to the name of a castle, town or city when entering or moving through a space containing such. However, if a noble ends his movement in a space and uses such a designation, then it will be assumed that the noble has entered the castle, town or city (if possible). The designation “(c)” will be used to indicate that a noble is on the commons outside of a castle, town or city. (E.g., “Percy @ London(c)” means that Percy is in the London space, but not inside London.)

Entrance/exit from the following ports via ship is legal only to/from these sea spaces: Calais: S15, Corfe: S9, Dartmouth: S8, London: London Estuary, Lynn: S25, Milford Haven: S16, Pevensey: S11, Plymouth: S2, Rye: S12, Swansea: S18, and Whitby: S25.

NOTE: All movement orders must adhere to these designations or they will fail as soon as illegal or ambiguous!

*********************************

CROWN CARDS & EVENT CARDS

*********************************

Crown cards in play are public knowledge and listed in every adjudication. Event cards dealt prior to a turn are public knowledge and listed in each adjudication, unless one may be held by a player, in which case its identity is revealed only to the player drawing it. Crown cards dealt at the end of a turn are secret; a player will know only the identity of the Crown card dealt to him. Players may hold Crown or Event cards as the rules permit; they remain secret until played.

At any time, a player may play any Crown card or Event card that he holds, per the rules. Conditional and standing orders are permitted.

*************************************

TURN SEQUENCE & ADJUDICATIONS

*************************************

When a game starts, all players will be notified of the Crown cards they have been dealt. Due by the next deadline are each player’s Crown card allocations, starting locations of nobles and faction name.

The first adjudication will report these orders as well as the starting locations of the royal heirs. It, and all future adjudications, also will list the Event cards in play for the next turn, one per faction. The Event cards will be drawn in sequential order each turn such that the faction designated by the GM as “Faction A” will draw first, then “Faction B”, etc. If an Event card may be held by a player, then its identity will be revealed only to the player drawing it. If a Vacillating Noble card is drawn, then the GM will determine and announce which noble will be inactive. If a noble is called to more than one destination on a given Event card, then the player controlling the noble may decide which location the noble will attend. Otherwise, a noble must attend all calls on multiple Event cards. All responses to Event cards occur in sequential order.

Subsequent adjudications will report information as follows: belligerency of nobles; responses to Event cards; movement; locations of nobles, ships and royal heirs not moving; combat; coronations; Crown cards dealt; and Event cards in play for the next turn. If Parliament is called, then the normal adjudication sequence will be interrupted and conducted in a quicker time frame via e-mail, if possible, before resuming with the interrupted turn.

*************************

CONDITIONAL ORDERS

*************************
A player may submit conditional orders based on occurrences during a previous phase, but not within a current phase. (E.g., movement can be conditional on Event card responses, combat can be dependent on movement or Event card responses, etc.) If conditional orders are ambiguous, then no action shall occur.

*************************

BELLIGERENCY

*************************

At the start of each turn, a player must declare for each of his nobles and ships whether it is belligerent or nonbelligerent. If one noble or ship in a force is belligerent, then all nobles or ships in the force are belligerent. Failure to make such a declaration for a noble or ship means that it automatically is belligerent. Conditional and standing orders are permitted, except that a player may not issue a standing order for nonbelligerency.

NOTE: Belligerency does not prevent nobles from responding to Event cards.

***************************

ALLIANCES & PERMISSION

***************************

If two factions are allies, then the castles, towns and cities controlled by one are considered as friendly for the other for purposes of road movement, docking or disembarking ships, holing up, etc. However, if two factions are not allies, then the player of one must grant permission to the other for the latter to be able to use his castles, towns and cities as mentioned above. A player may not give standing orders to this effect.

****************************

CAPTURE OF ROYAL HEIRS

****************************
The capture of a royal heir is not automatic; a player must order one of his nobles to do so. If unallied forces occupy a space with an uncontrolled royal heir, then neither force shall control the heir.

***************************

ATTENDING ROYAL HEIRS

***************************

When a controlled sole king (queen) is called by an Event card, all nobles (including allied nobles) in the traveling party may attend to the sole king (queen) and travel with him (her) in response to the call.

When a noble who controls a royal heir is called by an Event card, the royal heir and all other nobles of the noble’s faction in the traveling party may attend to the heir and travel with him (her) in response to the call.

*************************

MOVEMENT

*************************

Road movement occurs first and is simultaneous. All normal sea movement and other land movement occur second and are simultaneous. (I.e., every noble or ship moves as ordered for the first segment of its movement, then every noble or ship moves as ordered for the second segment of its movement, etc.) Free moves occur third (and fourth, and fifth, etc.) and are simultaneous as described above.

Three other movement orders are allowed for a noble or ship:


• “Wait”: This allows a noble or ship to pause in its movement for one segment.


• “Hold”: This prevents a noble or ship from moving during the turn.


• “Chase”: This allows a noble or ship to follow (per normal movement rules) a controlled royal heir or an opposing noble or ship for the turn until they occupy the same space. The chasing noble or ship will follow the same movement route as the target. A noble must be within 10 land spaces of its target to initiate a chase, and a ship must be within five sea spaces of its target to initiate a chase. If it is unclear what movement route a chasing noble or ship shall take, the GM will choose the route he deems to be the shortest.

A belligerent force of one faction automatically stops the movement of any force in an opposing faction if both forces are in the same space. If a belligerent force and an opposing nonbelligerent force meet by crossing the same space edge, then both parties will stop in the space occupied by the nonbelligerent force. If two opposing belligerent forces meet by crossing the same space edge, then both parties will stop in one of the spaces as randomly determined by the GM.

*************************

COMBAT

************************* 

In combat between belligerent forces, if an Event card is drawn that may be held, then it goes to the stronger force, with the next such card drawn going to the weaker force, and so on alternating between the two forces. In combat between a belligerent force and a nonbelligerent force, the belligerent force gets all Event cards drawn that may be held.

If a royal heir or an opposing noble is captured following combat, then the victorious force must order which noble takes control of each captive.

*************************

NMRs

************************* 

When a player fails to submit orders, all of his nobles and ships are belligerent, but they do not move except as indicated by played Event cards. If a noble of an NMRing faction is called to more than one location on an Event card, then it will move to the first location. As possible, all of the faction’s nobles in a stack with a royal heir will attend the royal heir if called by an Event card. Also, the player neither may hold an Event card drawn for the turn (it is instead discarded) nor be dealt a Crown card for the turn. A standby player will be announced, if possible. If the player does not submit orders for three consecutive turns, then his faction will be disbanded after the third turn is completed, with all of his Crown cards and held Event cards placed in the Chancery or discard piles as appropriate, and all corresponding counters removed from the board.

